2017 Individual Spirit Award Nominees

We Love Spirit

As many of you know, we love Spirit of the Game at the VUL. We’re very fortunate to have many spirited teams and players, and each year we recognize a select few our Annual Awards Banquet in October.

Our top two awards are the Annual Individual Spirit Awards: the William Arthur Hawkins Spirit Award and the Laurel Stroppa Atwood Spirit Award. Members nominate other members who they feel are most deserving, and the Board selects the final winners. View the list of past winners

2017 Nominees

The nominees for this year are: (in alphabetical order)

Spirit of the Game

Ultimate relies upon a spirit of sportsmanship that places the responsibility for fair play on the player. Highly competitive play is encouraged, but never at the expense of mutual respect among competitors, adherence to the agreed upon rules, or the basic joy of play. Protection of these vital elements serves to eliminate unsportsmanlike conduct from the Ultimate field. Such actions as taunting opposing players, dangerous aggression, belligerent intimidation, intentional infractions, or other “win-at-all-costs” behaviour are contrary to the spirit of the game and must be avoided by all players.

  • Joyce Ahonen
  • Marc Beaulieu
  • Doris Chang
  • David Chinn
  • Thomas Cuddihy
  • Miki Eslake
  • Cory Farquharson
  • Allison Lambert
  • Jennifer Lee
  • Chris Lindeman
  • Lisa Miao
  • Audrey Ng
  • Connery Noble
  • Chris Penny
  • Sarah Perez
  • Jeremy Quan
  • Clint Sello
  • Jade Shiller
  • Silas Tang

Note that as part of our goal to be more inclusive of all genders, we no longer offer Male and Female awards. Starting in 2017, we have two awards for two people of different genders.

Congratulations to all 2017 nominees! Your contributions to the VUL community are very appreciated!