2018 Spirit Award Nominees

We Love Spirit

As many of you know, we love Spirit of the Game at the VUL. We’re very fortunate to have many spirited teams and players, and each year we recognize a select few our Annual Awards Banquet in October.

Our top two awards are the Annual Individual Spirit Awards: the William Arthur Hawkins Spirit Award and the Laurel Stroppa Atwood Spirit Award. Members nominate other members who they feel are most deserving, and the Board selects the final winners. View the list of past winners

2018 Nominees

Spirit of the Game

Ultimate relies upon a spirit of sportsmanship that places the responsibility for fair play on the player. Highly competitive play is encouraged, but never at the expense of mutual respect among competitors, adherence to the agreed upon rules, or the basic joy of play. Protection of these vital elements serves to eliminate unsportsmanlike conduct from the Ultimate field. Such actions as taunting opposing players, dangerous aggression, belligerent intimidation, intentional infractions, or other “win-at-all-costs” behaviour are contrary to the spirit of the game and must be avoided by all players.

The nominees for this year are: (in alphabetical order)

  • Rob Adams
  • Marc Beaulieu
  • Doris Chang
  • David Chinn
  • Matthew Fisher
  • Lisa Hsu
  • Jennifer Lee
  • Chris Lindeman
  • Andrew Lui
  • Connery Noble
  • Jade Shiller
  • Ben Talbot

Note that as part of our goal to be more inclusive of all genders, we no longer offer Male and Female awards. Starting in 2017, we have two awards for two people of different genders.

Congratulations to all 2018 nominees! Your contributions to the VUL community are very appreciated!