Hello fellow rules people! I had an opposing player make a call today that I've never heard of before, and I want to confirm what the right call is for future reference. Wondering if I can get your thoughts on this:
1) Our opponents have the disc near their end zone. Their handler is near the side and hucks an outside-in long bomb so the disc goes out of bounds almost instantly, and is slowly curving its way back in, close to our brick line. My safety goes out of bounds, and knocks the out of bounds disc before it comes in.
My understanding based on the rules is that the disc is played where the disc went out (or "completely crossed the perimeter line"), so disc is near their end zone. However, one person on their team said that the disc goes where the out of bounds player hits the out of bounds disc, because it was coming in. This makes no sense to me based on my reading of the rules (except if it's point 3 in the list below). Who's right in this situation?
Appreciate your feedback. Thanks.
To continue play after the disc becomes out-of-bounds, a member of the team gaining possession of the disc must carry it to, and put it into play at, the spot on the playing field proper nearest to where the most recent of the following events occurred: