Foul/Violation + Disc is caught out of bounds.

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

This came up, and I never came to a resolution in my mind. Generally speaking on a call with continuation, you need to catch the disc legally (as I understand it) for the disc to go back to the thrower, else it is a turn over. If the disc is caught out of bounds, is that considered a catch? I would assume that out of bounds is out of bounds.

I think you understand correctly. Catching out of bounds is not a completion.

-If the thrower was fouled, it would return to them anyway.
-If the marker called the foul on the thrower, it is a turnover (ie they retract their call and the pass is incomplete).
-If the receiver called a foul while the disc was in the air, it depends: Did the foul CAUSE the catch to be received out of bounds? If the receiver had no realistic chance of catching in-bounds, it is not a foul. If the foul prevented an in-bounds catch, the receiver gets it if uncontested; back to thrower if contested.
-If the downfield defensive player called foul on the receiver, turnover (they retract their call and it's an incomplete pass).
-On a pick call, and the thrower did not acknowledge, it's a turnover.

The last scenario may be the one you refer to. The receiver must make an IN-BOUNDS catch, and if the pick affected the play, it is returned to the thrower.

Thanks Alaan, the last scenario is the one I was looking for.

Calling up another one, slightly different scenario, but still under the continuation discussion. For some reason continuation still escapes my grasp. If a travel is called. The catch is made, and the receiver throws the disc away. The argument is that the travel call was acknowledged by players around the original thrower, but the receiver did not hear and still threw it away. Sideline (thrower's team) said turn, I said turn, thrower said return to thrower, couple others on the field couldn't definitively say.

Continuation rule can be complicated. The key is determining "Who is the thrower?"

This is from the annotated version of the rule book:

-----XVI.C.
Any time an infraction is called, the continuation rule applies. Continuation Rule: Play stops when the thrower in possession

(This refers to the thrower who possesses the disc or has just released the disc at the time of the infraction/call. Who the thrower (II.T.5 (An offensive player in possession of, or who has most recently possessed, the disc, is the thrower.) ) is determined at the time of the infraction/call.)

acknowledges that an infraction has been called. If a call is made when the disc is in the air or the thrower is in the act of throwing, or if the thrower fails to acknowledge the call and subsequently attempts a pass, play continues until the outcome of that pass is determined. For the purpose of the continuation rule, an uncontested stall that occurs after another call is treated the same as an incomplete pass
-------

You are the thrower right up until the point at which another player takes possession of the disc. If you have made an acknowledgement of a call up until that time, then you are the only one that matters in determining the timing of the continuation rule. So you should acknowledge the call as soon as you can even if you have released the disc. Your play will likely stand if it's a turn; but you will prevent your receiver from 'becoming' the thrower, and doing a silly thing like turfing it.

In your example, the disc is returned to the original thrower, assuming the original thrower acknowledged the call before the reciever caught it. It sounds like they did if many players around the disc were ackowledging. There are any number of ways to 'acknowledge' a call, including saying 'Ok' or 'Sure, it comes back' or "ARE YOU SERIOUS! THAT"S NOT A TRAVEL" - Don't do that last one, keep VUL spirited, but it does count as acknowledging a travel call. Echoing the call is your best bet for avoiding confusion.

If on the other hand the original thrower had started running down field, playing on like nothing was different, the receiver became the thrower and turned the disc over.