After a timeout call

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Must the person who called the timeout (which is the person with the disc at the time) check the disc in or can it be anyone?

A person has to form a T with the disc for a timeout call.

So because you come into possession of it, it would be a turnover otherwise would'nt it?

Carlos,

Assuming that it isn't a timeout between points, then the person who called the TO (ie: the
thrower) must begin with the disc after the timeout. As for the disc being checked in, the usual
rules for the check apply, meaning that a defender must touch the disc to restart play, or, if
there is no defender near enough the nearest defender must acknowledge that play is restarting.

Got it. If the timeout is not called between points, only the person who called the timeout (the thrower) can begin with the disc after the timeout and no one else.

thanks for clarifying that carlos. for some reason, i thought anyone was allowed to pick up the disc if there was no mark on the thrower when the TO was called.

jinkxs,

The only part of a timeout that involves the mark is that the stall count can only continue where it left off if the same marker resumes the stall. If there is a new marker the stall count must re-start.

So if it is the same marker, the marker can continue stall counting from prior to the time-out call? ie You can't use TO to buy more disc time?

That's correct. (Unless the stall count was over 8, in which case the stall restarts at 9, giving you an extra second. It seems a bit risky to me to let the count get that high to gain one second, though.)

"It seems a bit risky to me to let the count get that high to gain one second, though."

For your consideration: http://tinyurl.com/klnabo

/ Move along, nothing to see here.