Boxing out?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Is boxing out legal?
If not what could a much shorter girl (on defense) do when she already is deep
and a much taller guy is striking deep off a floaty huck?

So long as you don't commit a blocking foul (XVI.H.3.c.1) in the process, yes, "boxing out" is "legal."

In layman's words, this means that whatever you are doing to "box out" another player, your sole purpose should not be to block your opponent's path to the disc. Even if some reasonable contact is involved, jockeying for the ideal position or run-up to the disc, for example, is permissible, on the understanding that you are preparing your own play on the disc. Identifying your opponent's line to the disc and contacting him solely to prevent or damage his own attempt, however, is a foul. All of the defender's limbs (e.g., use of arms) and movements can be held to this standard.

The problem of defending taller players is not unique to girls of course. Boxing out (legally) for position is a skill worth learning from experienced and knowledgeable players. In addition , the jump-off itself is also a test of skill and athleticism. Get an advantageous position so that (i) you get the first shot at the disc and (ii) preferably such that it will be near your reach when you make your attempt. Jump up strong and jump up early. Defenders who cannot sky their opponents can still apply distraction and pressure to the catch.

oh man couldnt have said it better myself. as a defender the biggest
advantage you have in that position is that you don't have to catch the
disc. what i would do is (legally) make it as hard as possible for the
offence to catch the disc. as said above, get in front of them, jump early
and cause havoc. distraction d's are worth just as much as any other d.

Question about a certain twist to this. Lets say the thrower throws the disc and its carried backwards like a sail.. Obviously he cannot catch his own throw. In that situation if he's trying to box out a person on the other team such that they cannot make a play on it.. is there any ruling on this? He's totally not making a play on the disc, he's making a play for the sake of impeding the other player such that his own team can make a play..

... then that's obviously and very clearly a foul, by the wording of the
blocking rules.

HOWEVER, the thrower absolutely CAN make a play on the disc. He cannot
CATCH it, but he CAN MAC it once to another player.