Bringing disc in from out of bounds

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

I'm pretty sure I know the answer from reading the rules but just wondering what other people's take is on this one.

So my team is on O and the disc is thrown a good 20ft or more out of bounds. One of the opposing players who is now on offense runs to get the disc. He's got at least 10 steps on me but the disc is far enough out of bounds that I'm taking my time to get to the sideline to put on a mark (we're playing a zone and I'm in the cup). Someone on the sideline (opposing team) picks up the disc and throws it to the guy I'm supposed to mark who then quickly brings the disc into play and hucks it for a score before I have a chance to put a mark on. Turns out I'm not the only one on my team who thinks we had more time to setup as the person playing deep gives their striking player a good 20 steps.

So the rule to continue play when a disc bcomes out-of-bounds is a member of the team gaining possession must carry the disc to and put it into play where the disc crossed the sideline (this is my short condensed version). I guess he technically did since when he caught the disc from his teammate, he was a couple feet out of bounds and had to take a couple steps to get back on the field before throwing the disc. So the rules don't explicitly say that the player has to retrieve the disc themself but the way the rules are written I think it's kind of implied??? Or am I way off? or maybe there's something in the rules I'm not seeing? Just wondering what people think. Maybe me and my teammates are just lazy and we deserved to get burned. In the end we had a bit of discussion and the play stood and a point was given.

Ah yes... good question, which has introduced many in-depth discussions over the years.

Interestingly, WFDF has addressed this with the following "11.9. If the disc is out-of-bounds and more than three (3) metres from the pivot point, nonplayers may retrieve the disc. The thrower must carry the disc the last three (3) metres to the playing field."

However, the 11th Edition does not (yet - see below) have anything that addresses this, other than what you've quoted. Which is, "IX.H. To continue play after the disc becomes out-of-bounds, a member of the team gaining possession of the disc must carry it to, and put it into play at, the spot on the playing field proper [...]"

Reading an implication that they must also retrieve the disc him/herself, or that they must carry it the entire way, is an interpretation that is NOT intended by the writers of the rules. In fact, the majority of SRC and players seem to support actions that speed up the game (such as assistance with retrieving the disc), and do not slow it down (such as making the thrower go all the way to retrieve the disc). Remember that the 11th also includes statements and suggestions designed to keep the game moving, such as "XIX.B. [...] avoid any delay when starting, restarting, or continuing play [...]", and XIII which includes pre-stall, delay of game, and disc replacement steps all designed to keep the game moving.

In this case of the out-of-bounds disc, it's acceptable to get assistance from other non-players in retrieving the disc and getting it into play as fast as possible.

The SRC has discussed whether we wish to include something similar to what WFDF rules have, in order to address actions that potentially abuse the 'get the play going quickly' rules and resultantly may push the limits of fairness.

But in your case, you need to be ready for play to resume quickly, and be ready for any negative repurcussions because play got going faster than you had initially anticipated.

As a follow-up, though, I'm curious whether the thrower touched the disc down to the
ground when he got to the sideline and before he threw. If not, then that's a valid travel
call you could have made. That extra partial-second that might have allowed you to get
into better position.

Funny enough, the player did not touch the disc to the ground and there was a discussion about that too. The player was pretty confident that all you needed to do was establish a pivot for play to resume. To be honest, I agreed with him. I thought you only had to do that after a stoppage of play but I guess tapping the disc on the ground in this situation is different than a self-check. Oh well. In the end, there were no hurt feelings and it was a good game.

Well then, you'll want to review XIII.B., which says, "For a live disc to be put into play, the
thrower must establish a pivot at the appropriate spot on the field, touch the disc to the
ground, and put it into play."

Basically anytime you carry it from one spot to another before you can throw, you're
changing from live to in-play, and need to touch it down.

Most common examples:
- turnover OB or in the EZ and then carry it to the line
- catch then run OB or run into the EZ and then carry it to the line
- pull OB and then carry it to the line or to the brick/middle