Bringing the disc into play at the side line.

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Here's the scenario.

The other team throws the disc out of bounds at the sideline. I go to pick it up and bring it to the side line. I get to the side line and bring the disc into play. The defensive marker calls a few stalls, I see one of my players making a long cut down the line. I step out of bounds (not moving my pivot foot) and make a throw which comes in bounds down the field some 40 yards. My team mate catches the disc, but my mark calls me out.

I never moved my pivot foot, nor did I switch feet.
However, I can not state with any certanity that I had brought the disc into play while actually having both or eith of my feet standing inside of the sideline. In otherwords, one or both of my feet could have been in, out, or on the line (and thus out). I had never given it a thought before to check that both my feet were well within the side line. I usually jog/walk to the line and bring the disc into play on or near the line. I've been playing for years and have never had a player call me out when bringing the disc into play at a sideline.

I suspect that my marker believes that when the disc was put into play that my pivot foot was on the line or out and when I then went to pivot away from the field and throw, my in bound foot along with my entire body moved out of bounds.
(No matter the ruling on this, from now on I will make sure that I always bring the disc into play well within the sideline and not actually on the sideline to avoid any future issues.)

So I ask, am I considered out in that instance?
Thanks all.

*The marker and I never got a chance to talk it out, as the disc was dropped way down field and so we continued as if it had been a turnover.

It was not a valid call. The call needs to be made immediately.

Even if you were 1m OB, if the marker continues playing and doesn't make the call, then
they lose that opportunity to make that call. A Marker does not have the choice to ignore
whether you travelled at the start of the stall count, but after you make a good play, look
back to see if you had made some infraction in the past.

Also, I don't know that you have to worry that much about sighting up your pivot when
walking IB. I've never seen this call (made immediately or not). You would think that the D
would prefer you further OB. That makes forcing you much easier.

I'm thinking your Mark was one of those special people who love calling rules to their
advantage, without bothering to stick to the valid ones. In this particular case, both he and
you were satisfied that the play was on the up and up, there was a fair competition between
you two, and you made a great throw that helped your team. Then he looked around and
found a technicality by which he could invalidate that play (which happened to be wrong).
That to me doesn't sound like somebody looking for fair play. These people are also called
"Jerky McJerkersons".

Haha, Thanks Temple.

That is how I kind of felt about it.
I'm usually on the ball with rules but this one threw me a bit.