Catching a disc after it's out of play

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

I know if the disc is out after anything out of bound touches the disc. So, if an out of bound offensive player touches a flying disc, but the disc flies back in to the field and an offensive player catches it, is it a turn-over?

Wow. That is a very good question.

However, I have an interesting turn of events on this situation. What happens when the disc goes out of bounds and a defensive player misses the d (He goes out of bounds and makes a play on the disc) and mac the disc and it goes in bounds and an offensive player catches it.

Logically, reading the words on the rules it seems that this would be a dead disc since an player, who started out of bounds, had touched the disc. The disc is considered dead.

Emotionally, I think that the disc should be live because why should the defending team be penalized because a defender made a play on the disc and screwed up?

When an OB offensive player touches the disc (wherever that disc is), the disc is instantly OB,
dead, TO.

When an OB defensive player touches the disc (wherever that disc is), the disc is not OB. The
disc is live, if they mac it onto the field to an IB offensive player, it's a completed pass.

The rule:
IX.E) A disc becomes out-of-bounds when it first contacts the out-of-bounds area, contacts an
out-of-bounds offensive player, or is caught by an out-of-bounds defensive player.

Great! Thanks