Continuation After Foul

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

O is fouled while catching an airborne disc. O calls "foul" but manages to
gain possession. Without stopping, O continues play, making a pass
upfield for a goal. D objects, claiming O needed to, at the very least, self-
check the disc before continuing.

I would assume that in this situation, section 2.a.2 of the continuation rule
(XVI.C) applies: "If the offense called the infraction after the thrower
began the act of throwing or if the defense called the infraction, play
continues unhalted. Players should announce 'play on.'"

However, I can see the point the D was making – when "foul" was called,
the D stopped. It seems the O calling the foul had unfair advantage
continuing the play with the D halted.

Am I misreading the rules? What's the correct resolution here?

I'm sure Temple will arrive shortly to interpret the rulebook for us but I wanted to weigh in to exhort readers to

"Keep Playing Defence!"

Stay hard on your mark until he or she stops to figure out what's going on.

Absolutely, but with an addendum:

"Keep Playing Offense!"

Play on when you hear a call. *Even if* your check stops, play on and get the O or the D it
will likely affect play just as much as if there was no call.

In your scenario, "play continues unhalted". That means just what it says. No Stoppage, no
Check, no Self-Check (you remember that a "Self-Check" cannot be performed by one's self
right? It's a confusing name for a regular old Check between the O and the D, but when the D
happens to be too far away to touch the disc).

While players "should announce 'play on'", there isn't an obligation to do so. I wouldn't mind
if there were an obligation for the person in possession to say 'play on' before playing on, but
that's not in the rules.

As Speedo said, anytime you 'stop because you heard a call', you've made a mistake. No fair
calling 'unfair' because you made a mistake.

"Keep Playing Defence"
"Keep Playing Offence"

Oh man, I'm in Div 8 all over again.

Thanks for the clarification! I do think forcing players in this situation to
call "play on" would make it clearer to everyone that they can disregard
the foul and continue...even though, as everyone has pointed out, you
should continue playing O and D regardless.

In this instance, we ended up calling the point back and losing possession
on the redo. It was a very close playoff game so it was hard to swallow but
next time we will know...and knowing's half the battle.

J S By J S

Although I agree with the majority that was posted, I think I saw the play unfold a different way. It looked to me that the disc was caught, the O player pivoted to make a throw and called a foul. Before the the D even had time to contest the foul or agree with the foul, the O player pivoted again and threw a pass.

This seems to put the O player at a significant advantage as he clearly "freezes" the D with the foul call.

Does the continuation rule still apply here as per the situation I described?

That's not what I saw but it happened very fast and you may have had
better perspective. Certainly, if you were the D player checking the O you
would have. I was in the play but probably 20 feet away.

I'm curious too, though, about your question and agree that it could
easily be used to gain advantage. You're definitely going to pause for a
second when a violation is called against you. At the very least, this would
be considered unspirited.

JS, let's call your description Scenario 2 (It really doesn't matter which or if either scenario
matched the game. We can't see what happened in the game, we can only comment on the
scenarios described here).

Scenario 1 has the O player make a receiving foul call at or about the same time the foul
occurred. In this scenario he is not the Thrower as described in the Continuation rule.

With Scenario 2, It's not exactly clear whether the O is calling a foul based on the reception,
a Receiving Foul, or a foul based on some contact that happened after the reception, a
Throwing Foul.

If the O was calling the Receiving Foul after he had started pivoting, I'd say that's a Violation
of XVI.H.1, which states fouls must be called immediately. In that situation, the D could call
Violation, and the disc would come back (if it wasn't turned over).

If the O was calling a Thrower Foul unrelated to the catch, then he is the Thrower mentioned
in the Continuation rule. In that case, the disc would come back if the (continuation rule)
Thrower makes a call and then subsequently throws a completed pass.

Either way, the D and O should still play on, but I agree that in Scenario 2 (either sub-case)
the disc should go BTT on a completed pass.

--

You'll note that's a bit muddy. It's unfortunate that the continuation rule uses "Thrower" in a
way somewhat inconsistent with the defined term. It's something that can be looked at for
the next update of the rules.