D catches disc out of bounds

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Here's the situation:

- disc is thrown and contact is made by an offensive player on the goal line of the endzone that the offence is attacking, about 5 yards in from the perimeter
- possession is not gained and the disc continues airborne out of bounds in the endzone
- a defensive player catches the disc out of bounds before it hits the ground in the endzone

Does the defender put the disc in play:

A) On the goal line at the perimeter line (i.e. the corner)?
B) At the point on the goal line where it initially crossed before redirecting out of bounds in the endzone?

This happened last night and I assumed B because of:

IX.I Events occurring after the disc becomes out-of-bounds do not affect where it is put into play.

The offensive player insisted that A was the appropriate resolution because I caught the disc out of bounds instead of letting it drop. We settled on A because I wasn't sure and he seemed very sure. Of course, it was an easy sideline D for our opponent.

What say you rules gurus?

You need to first understand that the disc isn't out of bounds until it hits the ground (or other object) OB or contacts an OB offensive player, or is CAUGHT by an OB defensive player. (11th Ref: IX.E.) This also means that an OB defensive player MACing or otherwise touching the disc does not make the disc OB, so it could fly back IB and be caught for a valid point, although none of this is the case here.

The defense caught it OB and so it's OB at that instant.

Then you need to look at the 4 conditions in IX.H to determine the last one that occurred ... in this case the order of events are: case 2 (contacted an IB player), then case 1 (disc crossed the perimeter), then case 3 (disc contacted a defensive player) and was OB at this instant since it was caught (...if it would have been only knocked down OB, this still would be the most recent event, but would not be OB until it hit the ground/object OB).

And since we ignore events that occurred after the disc was OB (11th Ref: IX.I; as you've quoted) we don't need to look any further than this, and so the most recent event is the contact with the defensive player.

So, the disc should come in at the side-line (in field proper) closest to where the OB defensive player caught the disc. Assuming they were somewhere adjacent to the end zone (i.e., deeper than the goal line), they bring it to the front cone as that's the boundary of the field proper.

John, from your assumption and from the rule you thought to apply, I'm guessing you thought
that the end zone is OB (maybe at least for the purposes for the TO). That's not the case.

It's not really clear from your description, but did the D catch the disc in the end zone? If that's
the case, the OB rules never apply.

The end zone in this case is no different from the rest of the playing field. The only exception is
that on a TO, when the disc is to be put into play in the end zone, you walk it straight to the
line.

Mortakai - I think I confused the rules because it was an endzone play. Whether I let it drop, or smacked it down, or caught it, the result should be the same: "carry the disc directly to, and put it into play at, the spot on the goal line closest to where possession was gained" (X.A.2). The spot on the goal line closest to where possession was gained was, as you said, "the front cone." So, we played it right.

Temple - Mortakai caught my meaning. The disc hit the offensive player at the goal line, continued into the endzone, and then out of bounds at the endzone sideline.

Thanks for the clarification!

You did play it right, although X.A.2 won't come into the equation. That rule's for when disc possession is from IB (within the EZ). E.g., picking it up from the EZ after a turnover, intercepting the disc in the EZ, or being awarded the disc after a receiving foul.

Your original post's situation puts it at the goal line because of rule IX.H, which says an OB disc is put into play on the field proper, and therefore will never be from the sideline within the EZ, because that's outside of the field proper.

Same result tho'.