Defense Catching/Touching the Pull

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Interesting discussion about defense touching the pull this past weekend, with no real conclusion reached.

From the rules:

"VIII.B.5.
A player on the throwing team may not touch the pull in the air before a member of the receiving team touches it. If this violation occurs, the receiving team may request a re-pull immediately."

Does this not lend some thought to the strategy for the defense to stop a pull from going OB if possible? Or pulling a greatest type maneuvre if the pull is OB from the outset?

Good strategy? or poor spirit?

"Good strategy? or poor spirit?"

I might get crucified for saying so, but my first thought was to say, "both."

The rule is written assuming the defense only accidentally influences the pull. Deliberate infractions of the rules are always gross offenses against SotG, but like many other examples in the rules, there is little to deter them (other than the authority of an observer).

Regardless, it's relatively rare that a pull is so terrible that the defense is capable of influencing it in the manner described above, so it's not exactly a gaping loophole.

Yeah, reading it again I realize the first sentence covers it. Defensive player may not touch the disc before the offensive player does. I initially read it as may not = should not vs. may not = must not.

Both, really?

VIII.B.5) "A player on the throwing team may not touch the pull in the air..."

If a D then intentionally touches the pull (knowing about this rule), then they are guilty of
knowingly violating the rule.

I call that cheating. Especially when it's done to gain an advantage.

--

"The rule is written assuming the defense only accidentally influences the pull."

I highly doubt that. I think that rule exists for the express purpose of not having the D run
down and perform shenanigans with the pull. Not for the extraordinarily rare chance it
accidentally hits a D. Regardless of which one of us is correct, it does not change in the
slightest that it's cheating to intentionally touch your team's pull.

"I call that cheating."

That's pretty much what I call it too. I was just pointing out the obvious-- the rules are written under the explicit assumption that the players will not cheat.

I get it. I was coming from the position where cheating could not be 'good strategy', but I realize
unfortunately that's not always the case without observers.