Disc being returned into play.

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
KMP By KMP
#1

Scenario:

A handler has the disc along the sideline and pivots to throw the disc from out of bounds in. (Disc is still good and in bounds). Defender is marking straddling the line, perhaps completely out of bounds. Defender hand blocks the disc but the disc continues to sail out of bounds.

My interpretation of the rules:

Defender is straddling the line and is out of bounds. Disc becomes out of bounds the moment the defender blocks the disc. (Rules IX.E and IX.H.4) Disc back to the defender and not the closest point on the field where it landed.

If the defender was completely still in the field proper, the disc would return to the closest point on the field where it landed instead.

Am I correct in my interpretation?

Well, the disc doesn't become out-of-bounds when it hits the defender (defenders happen to be special that way -- IX.E).

In this scenario, the disc would be put back into play where the defender hit it. (IX.H.3).

If the defender had been completely in-bounds, then the disc would be put back into play where it crossed the perimeter (presumbaly, really close to where the defender stood) (IX.H.1).