Disc space/fast count/travel calls

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

I coach a school team and the kids are still learning
handling/marking violations. I have read the rule
book a couple of times but still don't understand
what happens after making the following calls:

I was wondering what the procedure is after you
make a disc space/fast count/travel call.

I am handling - I call disc space what happens the
first time? I call it a second time what happens? A
third time?

Same question but for fast count - what happens the
first time I call fast count on the mark? What
happens the second time? Third time?

I am the mark and I call travel on the handler. What
happens? Is it a turn over?

Thanks
Kyle

disc space and fast count are marking violations. according to rule XIV.B.7:

When a marking violation is called, play does not stop. The violation must be corrected before the marker can resume the stall count with the number last uttered before the call minus one (e.g. stalling one…two.. fast count ..one…two…). If the marker resumes the stall count before correcting a marking violation, it is another instance of the original marking violation, which may be called by the thrower.

XIV.B.8:
If a marker commits a marking violation after being called for a marking violation during the same stall count (XIV.A.1) but before the thrower is in the act of throwing, the thrower may choose to either call another marking violation or to treat the marking violation as a general defensive violation (XVI). To treat it as a general violation, the thrower must call violation.

basically, on the first time the violation happens, the stall count continues at count minus 1. if it happens the second time in the same stall count, it is a violation. if the calls are uncontested, the stall count reverts to 0. if there is a dispute, the count reverts to count plus 1 or 6 if it's over 5.

it seems that, if a new count begins, the third infraction call is actually the first in the new count - i'm not exactly sure from my reading of the rules. but if three calls are being made consecutively, it's likely that either the marker or the thrower doesn't understand the call correctly. in that case, especially at a school level, it might be effective to stop play and explain the call.

a travel call is never a turnover. instead, a travel call results in a stoppage of play, similar to a pick. all players on the field must stop and revert back to their relative positions at the time of the call. play is restarted with a check by the defensive team.

hope that helps!

Thanks. That helps to clarify things. When the disc is checked back in by
the defense does the stall count resume at the last number reached
before the violation? i.e stalling one, stalling two, stalling three, call travel,
play stops, disc is checked in and then continue at stalling four etc.?

yes, exactly. the count begins with the last number counted plus one.

For an uncontested Offensive violation (uncontested travel), it comes in at the count reached
+1, but no higher than "stall...9".

If it's contested, then it comes in at the count reached +1, but no higher than "stall...6".

"basically, on the first time the violation happens, the stall count continues at count minus 1. if it happens the second time in the same stall count, it is a violation."

I know you preceded that statement with "basically..." so I'm not really calling you on on this, but your statement presents the rule in a fashion that is not quite accurate.

You MAY call violation after the first specific infraction. A violation stops play, which is sometimes disadvantageous to the offense.

It is the throwers judgment as to whether he/she will continue calling the marker infraction (disc space, double team, fast count), which drops the count by one every time, or to call a Violation and stop play.

addicted: "You MAY call violation after the first specific infraction."

Not correct.

You MAY NOT call "Violation" unless you already called one of the Marking Violations, and
then another Marking Violation occurs during that stall count (doesn't have to be the same
one).

A "Marking Violation" is not a "Violation".

--

XIV.B.5) Fast count, double team, disc space, and vision blocking are marking violations.
XIV.B.6) Only the thrower may call a marking violation, and to do so must call out the name
of the specific marking violation.

Note that MV's are not Violations, and that to call an MV, you must announce its name, not
"Violation".

XIV.B.8) If a marker commits a marking violation after being called for a marking violation
during the same stall count (XIV.A.1) but before the thrower is in the act of throwing, the
thrower may choose to either call another marking violation or to treat the marking violation
as a general defensive violation (XVI). To treat it as a general violation, the thrower must
call "violation".

Only *if* the Marker commits a second Marking Violation during the same stall count (it
doesn't have to be the same Marking Violation), may the Thrower call a general Violation.

So, only after the first "fast count/double team/disc space/vision blocking" call, does the
Thrower have the option to continue calling Marking Violations, or to call a "Violation", which
Stops play. Either choice is acceptable, and as addicted mentioned, there may be strategy in
whether to continue calling MVs or to call a Violation and stop play.