Dropping the disc into an awaiting receivers h

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Scenario in the game last night:

Handler is getting high in the count, the 'receiver' comes in
and the handler essentially just hands the disc to the
receiver. There was probably a split second when neither
were touching the disc (at most 5cm travel, but likely less, none of it
horizontally) no throwing motion. However, an intentionally dropped disc does
count as a throw per definition.

I had a look through the rulebook and couldn't find
anything about it. I also didn't see anything prohibiting a
simple hand-off, but I'm sure I missed/skipped the relevant
section.

Clarify rules junkies!

It says under XII.D2 that a turnover results if a player hands the disc to
another player. I'm guessing that handing the disc to a player involves
both players holding the disc at one point... but I don't see it explicitly in
the rules.

I hope it's clear what handing an object to another person is. It involves both people touching the
object at the same time. I don't think the rules should explicitly state something when plain
english suffices.

Dugly: "Handler is getting high in the count, the 'receiver' comes in and the handler essentially
just hands the disc to the receiver."

I'm assuming by "essentially just hands the disc" that you actually mean "doesn't actually hand
the disc"? If that's the case, then there's nothing wrong with it.

There's no rule as to how far the dump throw has to be (or what type of throw it has to be). The
only rule is that there can't be a hand-off.