I screwed up, can I have a do-over?

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

I just need to put this one to rest, its been bugging me since it happened.

Player A throws disc upfield, wind catches it, goes past the sideline and well out of bounds. Player B on the opposing team retrieves the disc, runs to where they (no perspective) think it went out of bounds, taps the disc in, and promptly turns it over by throwing it directly at Player A who catches the disc. BUT, while Player B was running to the field of play before their throw, Player A (who saw where the disc went OB) calls out something like "wait, wait, too far up, back X feet is about where the disc went out", but Player B ignores this, taps the disc in (to a position more favourable to their team), and throws it away anyways. Player B's team insists they get a "do-over" because they didn't take it from the "correct" spot.

Who gets the disc?

Player A's team. First of all, Player A didn't even make a proper call, but if he/she did, it would be a travel, and the continuation rule applies. Why would someone deserve a "do-over" for doing something wrong? If, however the pass was completed, the continuation rule says that the disc would have to go back to the thrower, and he/she would get the "do-over".

"If, however the pass was completed, the continuation rule says that the disc would have to go
back to the thrower, and he/she would get the "do-over"."

Ian already mentioned it, but it never hurts to hammer this one home: If B had completed the
pass, it would only go back if A had made a call.

Calling "OB" when you see somebody OB (your own team even) is absolutely, 100%, perfectly
spirited. The same cannot be said for saying some iteration of "check feet" and expecting *any*
action.