Injury

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
B-B By B-B
#1

In the game last night the opposing team had a slight injury during play, and the folks on the sideline were yelling "time-out".


Of course, nobody on the field knew what had happened and we scored a point. The point was called back because of the "injury" call.


Wasn't sure about this call. Can a team on defense call time-out? We ended up sending the disc back and playing the point over again. Any opinions or feedback here?

My understanding of injury time-outs is that they are effective immediately so anything after the 'Injury' call is null and void. I've attached the appropriate rule (looks like if the disc is in the air during the call the play is completed). Note that if the player doesn't leave the field (you say slight injury) the time-out counts as a team time-out.


------


C. Injury Time-out: A time-out called due to an injury to any player. During an injury time-out, the health and safety of the injured player is of primary concern.

1. An injury time-out can be called by any member of the injured player’s team. The time-out call is in effect at the time of the injury. In other words, the call is retroactive to the time the injury occurred.

2. If the disc is in the air at the time of injury, the play is completed.

a) The player determined to be in possession at the end of the play puts the disc into play with a check.

b) If no player is in possession of the disc, the defense puts the disc into play with a self-check.


-----


As many will tell you, sending the disc back to thrower is the correct play if there is a disagreement about any call.


Matt

B-B By B-B

This sounds like we made the correct call then. Thanks.


B

Just to add. "The time-out call is in effect at the time of the injury." not the time that "Injury" was called. This means that play returns to when the contact occured. Unless the disk was in the air but that was already nicely explained.

Totally the right call.

This sounds like the game I was in. Just to explain a bit... the person that was injured came to the sideline complaining about her ankle. She might have thought that it was too minor an injury to warrant a full time-out, and might have been hoping to sub on the fly. Of course, the only way you can sub is by calling an injury time-out (if you are indeed injured). We starting calling 'injury' for her, but by this time, the play was down the field, and nobody heard us. It wasn't until after the point was scored that they finally heard. Good spirit for letting us take the injury 'retroactively', even though you may have been unsure about the rule.


I guess the moral of the story is, if you are injured on the field, even slightly, and feel that it will affect your play, just call an injury time-out and let someone else take over.

...or rub some dirt on it, and play on. :)

B-B By B-B

Thanks Ian,


Once again, my general rule of thumb: "if nobody knows what the hell is going on, send it back to the thrower and play from there" shows its usefulness...


b