Injury called

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Restarting play after an injury time out:
"If the thrower is substituted or if the marker is injured and substituted, a new marker may resume the
stall count of the original marker when play is restarted." Does this mean if the person with possession gets to sub off, his mark can sub off also? Or can defensive players trade positions on field? ie someone downfield trades to get on the mark?
Just got a bit confused, thanks!

Nobody can move except those that sub.

The team that did not call the injury sub may choose to take a sub as well.

Subbing players start play at the position on the field where the substituted player was at the
time of the injury TO.

The part of the rule you quoted is dealing with the count. Specifically when there is a new
marker (if the marker is unchanged, the count is always resumed as per normal). The
scenarios described are:

1) Marker is injured and substituted: New marker may resume the count.

2) Thrower is substituted for any reason, marker is substituted for any reason. New marker
may resume the count.

3) Marker is not injured, but is substituted, thrower is not substituted. New marker may not
resume the count.

I agree with Temple's answer.

But for the sake of over-analyzing the wording, it's interesting to note that the rules say "<i>a</i> new marker" instead of "the substitute for the former marker."

So, technically, if there happens to be another defensive player within ten feet (suppose he followed his check into that radius), I guess he could resume the count instead of the substitute.

Not only is this occurrence rare, but it's of dubious strategic merit anyhow. Clearly, the substitute for the former marker is meant to resume the stall count.

--> So, technically, if there happens to be another defensive player within ten feet (suppose he followed his check into that radius), I guess he could resume the count instead of the substitute. <--

Not unless we allow clearly unintended loopholes to be fully acceptable to all players. So presumably, no he couldn't.