'Invoked' Block by Offence

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Played against a team last night that had a player that would try to cut by running by me...as close by me as he can...but in the process would invoke contact because I am in the process of turning to follow his cut.

Dude...(if you are reading this)...this is not a block.

If you are going to cut that close to other players on the field you should expect some grazing/incidental contact.

Gewie, there are two ways of dealing with this:

-if it was incidental contact... if he didn't harm you or affect the outcome of your play, then suck it up. Despite what some people may believe, some contact is allowed.

-if you thought he was being dangerous, or affected your ability to play D on him (but maybe not? As you said, "this is not a block"), then call a foul. Posting about it the next day on the Rules Forum isn't as effective as dealing with the incident right away. Besides, if he is the type to intentionally foul you, chances are he isn't a regular on this forum.

I think you got the opposite impression from Gewie's post to what he meant. I gathered his
griping was about the other player that supposedly was the cause of the incidental contact, yet
that player was the one calling blocking fouls.

Sure it sucks when somebody uses made-up rules, but complaining on the forum about it isn't
going to change anything. It may
make you feel a little better, but overal will do more harm than good.

(Cue the irritated "I think I am the one you were talking about, but here is ther *real* story"
post to prove my point...)

"Despite what some people may believe, some contact is allowed. "

..yeah, that is exactly my point.

As long as it is not intentional, and both players are willing to accept some degree of minor contact through some good ultimate play.

Allow me to disagree, and allow me to clarify. Contact is not allowed. And the rules state it as such.

Mort and the rules gurus have tried to make one thig very clear -- it is assumed that all contact on the field is accidental. Period. If it is deliberate, it is against the rules. And that's why taking an unavoidable position is also against the rules.

The notion of incidental contact means that, when contact happens by accident and when it has no bearing on the play, it is incidental.

"The notion of incidental contact means that, when contact happens by accident and when it
has no bearing on the play, it is incidental."

Not exactly, but close.

Intent does not factor into the rules except for a very, very select few (mostly regarding to
tipping/dropping/etc). It never matters if you accidentally contact somebody or not. What
matters is the contact.

Think of two players going for a disc at the same time. There's often incidental contact where
both arms touch while going for the disc. It's incidental because it doesn't affect either
player's play on
the disc. If you knew that there was going to be arm-contact between you and the other
player going for the disc, then you would have to avoid that contact otherwise it wouldn't be
an accident, and by your definition both players would be guilty of a foul.

Incidental means not affecting the outcome of the play.

There's a fair bit of incidental (and very minor) contact in ultimate, I would guess that the
majority of it is not accidental.

Temple, I see no difference at all between what I've said in two lines and what you've tried to say in 10 or 12. And I have absolutely ZERO desire to see your next clarification in 20 lines or 30 if you get wordy.

Mark was able to summarize the intent of the SRC in drafting clean, reasonable rules for players to follow. And he made a very clear and concise distinction between 'incidental' and 'accidental' at the beginning of rhis rules session on Saturday. That's what I was trying to echo.

My thoughts now stray to a new word I will add to my lexicon. Assidental. And I'll paste your photo beside it in my dictionary...

Here's a two liner without the additional "why?":

"The notion of incidental contact means that, when contact happens by accident and when it has
no bearing on the play, it is incidental." -- Not Accurate

"The notion of incidental contact means that, when contact has no bearing on the play, it is
incidental." -- Accurate

You shall not ASSimilate me. I stand by my comment.

bah