Multiple calls on the field

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
KMP By KMP
#1

I was curious what the "official" ruling on this situation. I was playing on the field and 3 separate and distinct calls were made at nearly the same time. (i.e. I couldn't tell which one occurred first.) Each call was uncontested and the final result was 'disc back to thrower and count at zero'.

The three calls were as follows:

1) Pick. The pick did affect play. Uncontested.
2) Marker foul. Uncontested. The marker fouled the thrower while the disc was being released.
3) Injury timeout by offense. Someone got stepped on and was rolling on the ground.

Please note that I'm only curious at what the official ruling should be. I'm perfectly happy with back to thrower at zero count.

Sounds like you did it right, provided that the time of the injury, not the
injury call, was at the same time as 1) and 2). If it was before then, keep
in mind that injury calls are retroactive to the time of the injury unless the
player tries to keep playing.

Agreed that disc back when massive confusion ensues, is always a
good call.

And yes, if the injury happened before the throw, the disc will always go
back, regardless of the timing. If in the air at the time of the injury,
play stops when the pass is finished (complete/drop/block/turf).

So, we're really just left with the pick and the foul by the marker.

I'm never really concerned with timing, or first-to-last or last-to-first,
but resolve them separately and then decide - sometimes the
separate resolutions are the same.

So... pick, uncontested - if caught it would go back; if turned, it's stays
turned.

So... foul by the marker - if caught it stays completed; if turned, it
comes back.

So, here's the logical think-through...

If caught - the foul on the marker ends up not affecting the completion
and so it's play on, but the pick kept the defender from possibly
blocking it, so it should go back -- it should go back.

If turned - even though the pick would keep it turned, the throw may
have been caught if the marker foul didn't cause the thrower to throw
other than what s/he wanted, and so it should come back -- it should
go back.

And so it always goes... either comparing the two outcomes will give
you the same (i.e., turn/turn or go back/go back), which makes it
really clear, or the outcomes will be conflicted (turn/go back), which
always will logically send it back when you work it through.

Easy peasy. You did the right thing.

*on edit: This all assumes it's a foul by marker DURING the throw. If
BEFORE the throw, the turn stays turned in both cases, and so it
shouldn't go back with the double-call. Obviously, the OP was DURING
the throw, but I just want to make sure people understand the nuance
and how it integrates into the double-call.

and apologies for the late check-in.

Gettin' slow in your old age, Mort.

Race you to Victoria, IN!
;p

Update - All that happened during the pull, and the receiving team dropped the pull, but they get it back right? RIGHT?

m2c