OB disc touched by offense/defense

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Ok so disc goes out of bounds, and is touched by defender before
touching the ground OB. The disc is put into play at the point where
the defender left the field? or nearest point on the field to where
contact was made?

Also, if disc goes out of bounds, and is touched by an (in-bounds)
attacker before touching the ground OB. The disc is put into play... at
the point where contact was made? (I think that when contact is made,
the disc is in bounds for the duration of contact between attacker and
disc since the attacker is inbounds?) - and does it matter if the
offensive player lands in or out after making contact with the disc?...
am thinking of a failed greatest bid.

The reason I ask is trying to figure out what incentive there is to make
a play on a disc that is obviously out of bounds for the offensive team.

cheers

"Ok so disc goes out of bounds, and is touched by defender before touching the ground OB. The disc is put into play at the point where the defender left the field? or nearest point on the field to where contact was made?"

On the understanding that the defender touched the disc after it had already crossed the perimeter, the disc will be put into play on the field proper nearest to where the defender touched it. (See IX.H)

Regardless, where the defender left the field is not important (See IX.H for things that are important).

"Also, if disc goes out of bounds, and is touched by an (in-bounds) attacker before touching the ground OB. The disc is put into play... at the point where contact was made? (I think that when contact is made, the disc is in bounds for the duration of contact between attacker and disc since the attacker is inbounds?) - and does it matter if the offensive player lands in or out after making contact with the disc?... am thinking of a failed greatest bid."

Yes, the disc will be put into play at the spot on the playing field proper nearest where the (in-bounds) offense touched (or caught) it. It does not matter where the player lands thereafter. And also note that while the disc may be flying outside the field istelf, the disc is not -- by rule -- "out-of-bounds" until it touches something or someone "out-of-bounds" (See IX.F).

"The reason I ask is trying to figure out what incentive there is to make a play on a disc that is obviously out of bounds for the offensive team."

Well, foremost is the chance of a greatest, obviously.

But if a greatest cannot be executed, making contact with the disc still influences where the new offense will take possession, which can make a substantial difference in yardage. If the other team would have ordinarily put the disc into play where it first crossed the perimeter, that outcome may be highly undesirable if that point was near your endzone. Making IB contact with the disc will at least force them to earn an extra few dozen yards on offense.

For reference, rule IX.H:

To continue play after the disc becomes out-of-bounds, a member of the team gaining possession of the disc must carry it to, and put it into play at, the spot on the playing field proper nearest to where the most recent of the following events occurred:

-the disc completely crossed the perimeter line;
-the disc contacted an in-bounds player;
-the disc contacted a defensive player; or
-the disc became out-of-bounds due to contact with the out-of-bounds area or a player while any part of the disc was inside the perimeter line.

After establishing a pivot at the appropriate spot on the field, the thrower must touch the disc to the ground before putting it into play (XIII.B).

Agreed...

... AND as defense, if the disc has been flying over the OB space for a while (e.g., "never in") and you're positive the offense won't get to the disc before it hits the ground, then leave it alone... otherwise, if it lands OB, you bring the disc into play where you touched it way down the field and have to work it all the way up, but by leaving it alone, you get to bring it up to where it first started flying OB, which may be very near to the EZ you're trying to score in.

And as offense in the same situation... even if there's noone to make a greatest attempt to ... still attempt to contact it while you still have IB state... this'll force the defense-now-offense to also take it way down the field where you touch it.

Same rule. Know it. Learn it. Love it.

...And people are IB as long as last point of contact is IB... so we can go
jump for the disc and force it to be played further up the field...?

I'm pretty good with the rules, just needed someone to confirm my
thinking =)

Thx again!

That's the idea. Even if you can't rescue a bad throw, you can still try to make the best of a shitty situation by leaping after it from in bounds.