Out of bounds?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Something came up yesterday that I want to get cleared up, so here's my question:

A player catches the disc with his left foot in bounds and on the ground, and right foot off the ground. The player then steps down with the right foot and straddles the perimeter line. Is he out of bounds?

The relevant rule seems to be:

C. A player contacting the out-of-bounds area is out-of-bounds. A player who is not out-of-bounds is in-bounds. An airborne player retains their in-bounds/out-of-bounds status until that player contacts the playing field or the out-of-bounds area. The following exceptions apply:

1. If momentum carries a player out-of-bounds after landing in-bounds with possession of an in-bounds disc, the player is considered in-bounds. For this exception to apply, that player’s first point of ground contact with any area must be completely in-bounds. The disc is put into play at the spot on the perimeter line of the playing field proper where the player first went out-of-bounds. If the player traversed the end zone being attacked, XI.B applies.

but I'm a bit confused as to if "the first point of ground contact" includes his left foot that was always on the ground.

Thanks!

Technically, yes, I would say he is out-of-bounds if any part of him is contacting an out-of-bounds area. But this is not illegal, nor is it a turnover. That is, a thrower is allowed to contact an out-of-bounds area: rule IX.C.2.

He landed in-bounds, as you say, because his first point of contact was in-bounds. So he retains possession of the disc.

He can legally throw the disc now as long as his pivot foot is firmly established in-bounds.

I don't know whether his left foot or his right foot is his preferred pivot foot. If his left foot is his pivot, he is fine as he is. If his right foot is his pivot, he'll need to shuffle it over and tap the disc to the ground.

In bounds.

If you already have a point of contact at the time of the catch, that's considered your first point of contact.

Addendum:

Rule IX.C.2 is introduced as an "exception" to IX.C ("a player contacting at out-of-bounds area is out-of-bounds"), so perhaps a thrower is not strictly out-of-bounds if he touches an out-of-bounds area.

The difference is semantic, so long as you know either way that the thrower is allowed to contact out-of-bounds areas.

Exactly. The Thrower's a special case, and doesn't really need to be considered for the
question.

Once you have possession of the disc, the entirety of your first point of contact must be
completely IB (touching the line just a teeny bit is OB). It doesn't matter if you then fall OB
or land your next foot OB, your first contact is what matters.

A great example of this was Brian Gisel on Navy in the Babes final. He caught a pass in the
end zone right near the OB line. He was in the air when he caught it, but stabbed his trailing
foot down IB just an instant before landing with his other foot OB. Red called OB, which Brian
contested and the disc went back. Brian was IB. I was spectating close to the play and
watching for exactly which foot landed first. Red managed to get the turnover and nearly
scored, but in this case the disc didn't lie and Navy got the point anyway.