Pick "didnt affect the play"

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

So this happened Tuesday night, at a very low division level, so it wasnt unspirited or anything, but im just curious.

So a pick was called by a player on the defending team. She yelled pick and the thrower didnt hear it yet. So in turn the thrower threw the disc to an open player. The open player's check was repeating the pick call and did not chase after his check (who caught the disc). I understand that in the 10th edition the pass would have standed right? But the player who stopped playing D said it goes back. I argued that it did not affect the play (because it was a different player who got picked and called pick), but this guy had stopped playing defense on the person who caught the disc, so it did "affect the play".

It made sense and we are both mentor types on the team, so i knew he understood the rules and i didnt want to make a big thing, but its been bugging me. Could i really stop playing defense and the argue it affected the play in the 11th edition?

Thanks guys

Jess

JDD By JDD

No - see this rule:

"XVI.K. A player’s ability to catch or make a play on the disc is not considered to be “affected” because that player stopped, slowed down, or otherwise ceased to continue playing because a call was made by another player. Players are encouraged to make every effort to continue playing until play actually stops."

In short, keep playing defence until you know the thrower has stopped play.

Sweetness,

thanks

What happens if the D does continue playing and catches or knocks down the pass? Can the thrower say "no, a pick was called...back to the thrower"? Or does the play stand as a TO?

In Packer's follow-up, the turnover stands.

The "pick" call essentially nullifies what may have been an unfair/illicit advantage to the offense. In brief, the offense will not be allowed to advance the disc by passing to a player who benefitted from a pick. If the defense overcomes their theoretical disadvantage and succeed, there is no need to send the disc back.

Continuation rules say that the turnover stands. Which is in line with atanarjuat's logic.

So does the stall count go back to where it was when the pick was called, or does it come back in whenever the thrower acknowledged the pick call?

Well, to be more precise, the rules dictate that the count resumes at "count +1, or 6 if count>5."

And rule XIV.5 says that the count cited above is the count at the time of the call. I don't believe there's any difference to the count whether the pick is contested or not.

I learned to call all picks back in div7. I learned in a play that went like this. My check picks me with another player, the disc goes to another offender and I don't call pick because the play was on the other side of the field... but then my newly freed check bolts for the end zone and catches the point. It was too late for me to retroactively call pick. If I would have called pick when I should have he wouldn't have made that play and thats how I learned that picks away from the play do matter.

" and thats how I learned that picks away from the play do matter."

They matter, but don't always affect play.

Remember, *always* call your picks when they happen. The rule is in there for safety. Actually I
usually wait half a beat to see if my check has slowed because he knows he picked me, if so, I
usually don't bother calling it.

When resolving a pick, you make up the ground lost by the pick, then determine if the throw
should go back. It's only this last step where you look at if the pick affected the outcome of the
play.