The Check

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

VIII.D.1. "When any call or event stops play, all players must come to a stop as quickly as possible and remain in their respective positions until play is restarted."


This is quite vague: What constitutes an "event that stops play"? Turnover? Out of Bounds? Other? Does this mean we can't set up a play until the disk is checked in?

Play stops after a call. Play does not stop on a Turn Over or Out of Bounds.


II.O) Stoppage of play: A stoppage of play is any halting of play due to a call, discussion or

time-out that requires a check or self-check to restart play.


II.O.1) Play is considered to have stopped when the player in possession acknowledges the call.

If that player gained possession after the call was made, play is considered stopped at the time

possession is gained.


--> "What constitutes an "event that stops play"? " <--


(...i.e., "other than a 'call' "...)


That'd be the part of II.O that Temple posted that isn't a call... which is, a "discussion or time-out".


And Temple's also mentioned it, but please allow me to re-iterate (for everyone, especially those that say "hey, I didn't get to check the disc in"): "play does NOT stop on a TO or OOB". Which really means that the disc does NOT need to be checked in for play to continue.

"Which really means that the disc does NOT need to be checked in for play to continue."


but if it's being put into play (not the same as restarting play) at a point other than where it was picked up, it does have to be touched to the ground (this is not a check, nor is it a self-check) before a legal pass can be made.


Just to be complete and avoid misunderstanding.

Can you quote the rule for that, Geoff? I thought you just needed to establish a pivot foot (i.e. stop walking).

You doubt the Oracles??? :)


XIII.A.3) If the disc is to be put into play at a spot other than where possession was gained, the

thrower must carry the disc to the appropriate spot on the field, touch the disc to the ground,

and put the disc into play at that spot.

OK, I'll bite...


Have any of you Oracles ever called a Violation when someone didn't follow that rule? :)

While I'm not an Oracle, my head does resemble an Orb...


I have called a travel violation when someone has walked the disc from OB in the end-zone up to the corner marker and has failed to put his pivot foot on the corner. (He put his other foot there, stepped away to pivot to make his throw, and I called 'Travel!' I sure showed him!)


I have seen games where a player on one side has insisted that another player 'check' the disc to the ground to put it into play. But more fun than that, boys and gorls, is watching people offer the disc to be checked in OR touching the disc to the group in situations where it doesn't have to be done. I'll bet that keep the Oracles rolling in the aisles...

--> "But more fun than that, boys and gorls, is watching people offer the disc to be checked in..." <--


Yup, this one happens quite a lot of the time, that is the offense offering the disc to me after a turn and they've walked it up to the line. I just calmly say, "nope, you just need to touch it to the ground", and then immediately start my count. I can't say how many people actually learn and do the right thing ever after, but at least I'm not causing a violation by touching the disc.


And for the earlier question of how often I call a violation when they don't touch it to the ground... if I think it (their lack of action) affected how the play would have happened in a way that gave them an unfair advantage, then I call it.

"I just calmly say, "nope, you just need to touch it to the ground", and then immediately start my count."



So you start counting before they've checked it in?

zip By zip

About XIII.A.3 ... I saw some confusion on rsd about when it applies.


Some people were arguing that you only need to ground tap when you pick up a disc off the ground and walk it; since XIII.A. says "If a disc is on the ground...", they interpret all the subrules that come after it (including XIII.A.3) to only apply to discs on the ground. This means if you catch a disc OB, then walk to the line, a ground tap is not required.


The other camp argues that XIII.A.3 applies all the time, so catching then walking WOULD require a ground tap.


What are the opinions in the VUL regarding this?

XII. A. 3. If the disc is to be put into play at a spot other than where possession was gained, the thrower must carry the disc to the appropriate spot on the field, touch the disc to the ground, and put the disc into play at that spot.


There is NO mention of picking it up here, it ONLY says "possesion gained", so you must tap the ground if you start play at a spot other than where you gained possesion....


How can people argue this????????

zip By zip

Here's a link to the discussion on rsd.


Buck, some argued that since XIII.A.3 is under XIII.A, and XIII.A. applies to discs on the ground, it is implied that A.3 also applies to discs on the ground.


In the rsd discussion, Flo Pfender says that Chris Van Holmes intended XIII.A.3 to stand by itself and not be a subsection of XIII.A, meaning ground tap is required even when not picking the disc up.


I was watching a Babes n' Hats game yesterday where the VUL coord and members of another team were having this exact same discussion. The VUL coord insisted that a ground tap was not required. If he reads this forum, can he present his argument?

That argument is semantics. Not to mention tenuous at best. It couldn't hurt to clarify the rules,

but it's hard to imagine anybody arguing that an interception in the end zone or OB doesn't

need to be tapped to the ground at the spot where it is to be put into play, yet if the D picks it

up, you do.


Still, if I call travel, and you contest on those grounds, the play is going to restart at the goal/

side line with a Check anyway, so it's pretty pointless.


--> "So you start counting before they've checked it in?" <--


Semantics aside (it's not a "check-in") ... basically, yeah. I probably shouldn't have said "immediately"... typically, they either immediately touch it to the ground, or ignore my comment and start looking upfield for a pass without touching it to the ground. Rather than pushing a point/being a dick/whatever else you want to call it, I just start counting as if they'd touched it to the ground. They heard me, that's obviously where they're bringing the disc in, no point in stopping the game.


... but it works out close enough to immediately in either of the two cases to be that.