I'd like some clarification on the Airspace Violation rule.
According to the handbook:
"All players have the right to the space immediately above them. Thus, a player cannot prevent an opponent from making an attempt on a pass by reaching over an opponent. Should contact occur before the outcome of the play is determined, it is a foul on the player restricting the vertical space."
As the rule was explained to me, a player cannot grab the disc out of the vertical column of space above another player. However, the last sentence seems to imply that contact needs to occur for it to be a foul. Is that true?
A situation that happened in a recent game is as follows:
The offensive player was in position to catch the disc. He was stopped. The defensive player jumped and grabbed the disc from above the offensive player's head. The disc was clearly above the offensive player and in his vertical space... there was no debate about that. However, no contact occured and it was a clean grab by the defense. Is this an airspace violation?
One other note is that, in this case, the offensive player was in fact slightly taller than the defensive player. Does that matter?