Travel

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

O. player catches the disc and ran a few steps after the catch. D. player did not call travel but the O. player decided that he travel so O. player took a few step back and tap it into play.
The question is, can D. player now call a travel?
Second question, if the O. player ran into the end zone and then walk a few steps back to the end zone line to tap in the disc, can that be a travel?
In both case, the D. player is at where the O. player was at before the O. player decides to take a few steps back. Also because of those steps, the O. player is able to throw a easy pass to the break side.

First one would be a travel, because the O took steps they weren't granted. The steps he/she took after catching the disc could very well be legal, as we're (mostly) human and need some space to slow down.

The second wouldn't be a travel as the O player has to take the disc out to the line before being able to throw. Throwing from their position inside the endzone would be a travel.

back to that first one...yes I agree that a steps are needed to slow down, but I have seen what looks to me like players taking advatage of that in order to provide space for themselves to make the next throw. obvisouly some players have better body control than others, so if you feel that the steps taken after the catch were not to slow down, can you call travel? I have seen instances where players are pretty much jogging, and after they catch the disc they continue moving at the same pace for 2-3 steps and then stop on a dime and release the disc.

Obviously this is a judgement call, but just want to know if I think they are taking advantage by using the steps to get open to throw, rather than trying to slow down, is it a valid call?

side note: I have never actually called it, but have gone to the player in question and told them what i thought. The usual answer was I wasn't even thinking about it, its just second nature after catching the disc to take a couple steps...

XV.
C. If a player catches the disc while running or jumping the player may release a pass without attempting to stop and without setting a pivot, provided that:
1. the player does not change direction or increase speed while in possession of the disc; and
2. the pass is released before three additional points of contact with the ground are made after possession has been established.

In the first case, it was not a travel. But if the O. player decide that he has travelled, he has to communicate that it was a travel, and move back. Otherwise, it does cause an unfair advantage to the D. player. In the second case, it was also not a travel, but the player require the steps to stop. It is a "run in". In this case, I would not expect the O. player to do any different than you described. However, I usually yell out "not in" for the sake of everyone else on the field.

It's interesting that you posted up this rule. Because I have been called travel in many cases that are within the boundary of this rule. Not many players know about this rule and it might be good to have that demonstrated during the summer clinic.

Re-reading my first post, I wasn't exactly clear about what constituted the travel.

Whether or not the first set of steps in the first scenario were valid, a travel was not called. You can't later decide to call a travel, as fouls/violations need to be made at the time they occur. The second set of steps taken by the O (to go back to the place they think they should have stopped) would be a travel, as they are not allowed to just start walking backwards with the disc in their hands. Because the first set was not called a travel by the D, there's nothing to fix, so by trying to do so, the O is committing the offence they are trying to fix.

Further, the O can't call travel (or foul) on themselves. Only the opposition (anyone on the defensive team, in this case) can call the travel.

Out of curiousity, Buzz, which part of the rule are you referring to that isn't well known?

OK that make sense.

The part where you can actually throw in motion. Many still say you have to have an established pivot foot before throwing.

I think Buzz was referring to the rule that Carlos posted. However, that rule doesn't apply to the scenario mentionned (a jogging player taking several steps, then stopping and throwing), as it refers to throwing without stopping. XV.B (After catching a pass, a player is required to come to a stop as quickly as possible and establish a pivot. ) applies here and makes the jogger guilty of a travel.