Travel after catching the disc

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Hi all,

This is a rule that has never fully made sense to me, so I'm hoping one of the rule gurus can explain it to me.

"XV. B. After catching a pass, a player is required to come to a stop as quickly as possible and establish a pivot."

So, you've got to stop "as quickly as possible" otherwise it's a travel under XVI. J. 1. a).

"XV. C. If a player catches the disc while running or jumping the player may release a pass without attempting to stop and without setting a pivot, provided that:

1. the player does not change direction or increase speed while in possession of the disc; and

2. the pass is released before three additional points of contact with the ground are made after possession has been established."

So, as long as you don't increase speed or change direction and you release the disc before the third ground contact, it's not a travel!

As a receiver, if I catch the disc, maintain my current speed and direction for the next two ground contacts while looking for someone to throw to, then I decide not to throw the disc, so I stop as quickly as possible... is that a travel? According to XV.B. it is! And XV.C. does not allow this exception.

So, as a receiver catching the disc, I always stop as quickly as possible because I don't *know* if I'm going to throw it in the next two steps, and if I don't throw it, then I've traveled....

Is this the intent of the rule? Am I misinterpreting it?

The situation you describe is indeed a travel, and you do seem to understand the rule correctly.

XV.C is an exception to XVI.J.1. Its purpose (and application) is to allow a very fast give-and-go. If you haven't decided on the next throw before catching a pass, and if that next throw isn't easy to throw while moving, then you absolutely should stop.