Travel call

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

this is a hypothetical situation that occurred to me while watching a play last night.

offensive player makes cut up field and receives throw, travels upon catch.

no immediate throw mark catches up play continues stall count of 4 and offense throws break-side defensive mark calls travel on the original catch

technically there was a violation but the advantage it gave was gone when his mark caught up and established their force

any thoughts?

XVI.A: "An infraction may only be called by a player on the infracted team who recognizes that it has occurred, unless specified differently elsewhere. The player must immediately call “violation” or the name of the specific infraction loudly."

So, "saving" an infraction call for later use is itself an infraction of the rules.

Since the infraction did not affect the play, the result of the play would stand, but it's still a royal pain in the ass to stop play over an illegal and unnecessary infraction call.

3-4 seconds might seem like a "saved" call. On the other hand:

I'm on D, chasing the receiver, I'll start calling stalls as soon as (s)he
catches. If the receiver changes direction on the slow-down it might
take me a second or two to resolve what had happened. If the
receiver then manages to get a unpressured huck or break out due to
me being out of position on the mark (due in-turn to the change in
direction), the stall count could easily be at 4 by the time the throw
came off.

In that case, I'd feel justified in calling it late because because the
violator had a clear choice not to violate and the violation benefited the
violator.

Well, in the first question, we were looking at a case where the advantage gained by the infraction had explicitly expired in the allowed time. That was the point of the question.

In your case, achoo, I don't think anyone has a problem allowing you a moment to recognize the infraction and then to react to it. I think that a two-second slow-down on a catch is pretty suspect on its own, let alone the direction change at ~stall 2-3. I also think that in practice, you'd recognize the infraction and be able to call it in a second.

But whatever -- the number on the stall count is not the important part. The point is that you must make the call "immediately," and you're not entitled to wait until after the effects of the infraction have expired to make your call.