Turf League: Placement after a point

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

I'm thinking the the disc should be put into play at the first point of contact the receiver made (with possession) as opposed to where they put the disc down.

Otherwise, the receiver can milk the slowdown right to a sideline or the back line.

Thoughts?

If I understand the question correctly, then this is the intent of the rules. Note this passage (double quotes added for emphasis):

'When a team scores, the receiving player acknowledges the goal and "immediately" places the disc on the ground.'

It is proper spirit to put the disc down where it was scored. If you feel the disc was put down in an incorrect location, I would suggest making a violation call and/or ground-tapping the disc into play at the point where you intend to set your pivot.

"Otherwise, the receiver can milk the slowdown right to a sideline or the back line."

This second statement confuses me, as it does not seem contrary to the first. Milking the flight of the disc to pin the next offensive possession in the endzone is good strategy.

"This second statement confuses me, as it does not seem contrary to the first. Milking the flight of the disc to pin the next offensive possession in the endzone is good strategy."

I think he meant milking the deceleration after the disc has been caught....in which case I agree the disc should be walked back up to the point it was caught.

Just don't do what i keep doing, milking the pass so I recieve it at the rear of the end zone, only for the disc to fall to the ground before i actually make the catch!!!

yep: I meant milking a deceleration phase after the point was scored.