Ultipedia - UPA rules of Ultimate quiz (vol 2)

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Hey VULers,

I've recently added a second rules quiz to Ultipedia. This is the first
semi-public announcement and I'd like some feedback to make sure
both the questions and answers are correct before making the new
quiz's existence more widely known. So, if you have a few moments,
please click the green 'www' link below and have at it. If you're
nerdy, comfortable with editing wikis and know the UPA rules, feel
free to add to/edit the quiz.. (though check with the existing Ultipedia quiz
first to avoid duplication).

If you haven't already done so, it's a good idea to see how well you
fare in the first quiz.. it's at http://www.ultipedia.org/wiki/UPA_Rules_Quiz

My notes:

You have a pointer to the relevant rule displayed when the person answers a question
correctly, but not when the question is answered incorrectly. I'd show it after every question
correct/incorrect/unanswered

1) I'd argue that the hand-off is a turn over of course, but that "violation" would be an
acceptable call (this can be borne out both practically, and through strict interpretation of the
rules).

4) This one is so murky that you can't have a correct answer. When did the foul occur? Was it
after the catch, was it related to the catch? I can assume what you're asking, but it should be
clear. Also your second answer suggests that the pass was actually contested. Finally,
"defense gets the disc at place of the infraction" was listed as incorrect. Based on what I
guessed you were asking, shouldn't that be the right answer?

6) A pick can be called by somebody who's further than 3m from their mark. In fact that's
often the case. The real key is if they were within 3m when the pick occurred.

10) Nitpick: theoretically somebody on D could be retrieving the disc for the offense, if they
drop it, it's not a turnover. I'd change "a player" to "a member of the offense".

---
Temple said:
You have a pointer to the relevant rule displayed when the person answers a question
correctly, but not when the question is answered incorrectly. I'd show it after every question
correct/incorrect/unanswered
---

The pointer should appear regardless of whether the answers are correct or incorrect. I went back and noticed that I had misformatted Q4 resulting in the behaviour that the answer section for that question did not appear. That part has been fixed.

---
Temple said:
1) I'd argue that the hand-off is a turn over of course, but that "violation" would be an
acceptable call (this can be borne out both practically, and through strict interpretation of the
rules).
---

Noted. I've removed 'violation' from the possible answers making the possible answers less ambiguous.

---
Temple said:
4) This one is so murky that you can't have a correct answer. When did the foul occur? Was it
after the catch, was it related to the catch? I can assume what you're asking, but it should be
clear. Also your second answer suggests that the pass was actually contested. Finally,
"defense gets the disc at place of the infraction" was listed as incorrect. Based on what I
guessed you were asking, shouldn't that be the right answer?
---

This one appears to be the most problematic. I've tried to clarify the question, and have also changed the answer to be correct. Oops.

---
Temple said:
6) A pick can be called by somebody who's further than 3m from their mark. In fact that's
often the case. The real key is if they were within 3m when the pick occurred.
---

That is the point I'm hoping to make with the question. The answer section reads as follows - "False! Often a player who has been picked is father than 3m when they make the call precisely BECAUSE of the pick. They have to be within 3m when they were picked, not when they make the call. see XVI.I.1 and II.G"
Could I improve that answer ?

---
Temple said:
10) Nitpick: theoretically somebody on D could be retrieving the disc for the offense, if they
drop it, it's not a turnover. I'd change "a player" to "a member of the offense".
---

Good catch! Adjustments made.

In addition to clarifications you've suggested, I've added another question about offsetting calls to the bottom. If you could check out questions 4 and 13, I would be appreciate it.

2) Your use of "self-check" is incorrect.

4) I believe that the "correct" answer is wrong. The team that committed the infraction, which
affected the play, retained possession, so possession should revert to the thrower.

6) The wording makes this one tricky. I suspect that most readers will assume the words "at the
time of the pick," making this a question about semantics more than about understanding.

13) There are a couple of assumptions that have to be made here to arrive at your answer.
These include: that the disc was thrown, and that the throw was caught, or that it was catchable
if it wasn't.

The important part of 4) is that it's an uncontested receiving foul, which awards possession to
the fouled player (the defender in this case) under XVI.H.3.b.2 as noted by the quiz.