Where does the disc get put into play?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

I had a friendly argument (it wasn’t on the field) with a player (sorry don’t remember your name) from Big Red Ford about where the disc is suppose to be put in play if the disc is thrown out of bounds but further down the field an inbounds player jumps and touches the disc but then lands out of bounds. He thought it be put into play where the disc first went out of bounds, I thought it should come into play where it was touched by the offensive player.

These seem to be the applicable rules.
IX. In- and Out-of-bounds
C. A player contacting the out-of-bounds area is out-of-bounds. A player who is not out-of-bounds is inbounds. An airborne player retains in-bounds or out-of-bounds status until that player contacts the playing field or the out-of-bounds area. The following exceptions apply:

H. To continue play after the disc becomes out-of-bounds, a member of the team gaining possession of the disc must carry it to, and put it into play at, the spot on the playing field proper nearest to where the most recent of the following events occurred:
1. the disc completely crossed the perimeter line;
2. the disc contacted an in-bounds player;

Unless there is another rule which supersedes these rules it seems to me that as stated by rule IX C: a player who jumped from inbounds is still considered inbounds if he touches the disc before he hits the ground and since rule IX H: states a disc that goes out of bounds should be put into play where an inbounds player contacted it the disc would therefore be put in play where the offensive player touched it, not where it went out of bounds.

Gwyn,

You're absolutely correct. However, prior to the adoption of the 11th edition such a scenario
would have resulted in the disc being put into play where the disc crossed the line. Some of
those players on BRF will have been familiar with previous editions and may not have learned all
of the changes in the past 2 years. Not an excuse, just an explanation.

Gwyn,

I was the guy you chatted with. To be clear, the discussion was specifically "prior to 11th edition" (excluding the new rule set).

However, having said that, I'm still not sure I was right. Strangely, Gin-Boh has the same memory of the 10th edition rule set that I do (you couldn't layout out-of-bounds and touch the disc as an offensive player and automatically make the disc in-bounds at that point), but I can't find an annotated version of the old rules. The old rule appears to be 9.8.2, which is the same as the new rule

The "greatest" clauses that I mentionned also were specific to making the greatest legal vis-a-vis travelling, not out of bounds. Hmmm.

WFDF rules do bring it back to where the disc left the field (see 404.06 C&F) in all cases, which may be what I was thinking of.

Darn rule guys with all the conflicting rules!

Looper

Looper,

You're right, I had confused when which rules changed. The current version has been true since
the adoption of the 10th edition in 2002, which makes anyone who still thinks otherwise even
more of an old-timer who can't be bothered to keep up to date.

_UNDER THE 9TH EDITION_ (ie: FYI, this is no longer true, and if you spout it as fact on the
field you deserve to be put in your place. Politely, of course.) the disc was simply put into play
where it last crossed the perimeter line as long as it wasn't touched by the defense. If you're
curious, there's still a version of that edition on a server at Rochester (linked below).

G-B's right (as self-corrected). The 4 conditions in IX.H. are unchanged through the 10th and 11th, and so has been the way it is since 2002.

If the last thing before the disc touching OB was an offensive pllayer laying out way OB, but not yet touched OB himself and so still IB, and touching the disc before it touches OB, then it comes back in at the line (closest field proper) there.

So as offense, even if you don't have a hope at all to complete a greatest, lay out and touch it anyway. Or better yet, throw it farther downfield.