Zone D --> Pick / Block ?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Hey folks


In a game last night, we were playing Zone D (3-3-1) and one of our teammates called a pick. He was playing mid-mid (I think) and felt

that he another offensive player (say mid-popper) got between him and a side-popper that he believed he was covering at the time. The response from the other team was, "you're playing zone, you can't call a pick".


I wanted to get some opinions of pick or block calls when playing Zone D.


In Cup: I've never thought about calling a pick or block when I'm in the cup and the disc is swinging. Many times, I might have to run around a popper, but that's just because we're all moving around (sometimes in apparent chaos). The disc and associated player is typically more than 10' away, so I obviously shouldn't call a pick... and I'm not sure block is appropriate either (disc in air, but popper isn't playing me... disc in hand, and well, the popper's position is typically avoidable as long as I stay aware).


Mids (mid-mid or hammer-stoppers) and deep: I suppose picks would be a very valid call here... as long as you're within 10' of whomever you truly believe you're defending within your area, and someone else causes you to lose your position on that person. Blocks... again, rather unlikely, but perhaps in the right situation.


Those are my thoughts on it... I'd like to hear any of yours.

"you're playing zone, you can't call a pick".


This is one of the most ridiculas statements ever !!!


XVI. K. 1. No offensive player may move in such a manner to cause a defensive player guarding a receiver to be obstructed by another player. Obstruction may be the result of contact with, or the need to avoid, the offending player. To do so while the obstructed defensive player is within three meters of the receiver is a "pick".


Doesn't matter what D you are using, if an O player obstructs you from covering another player it is a pick..


My .02 cents

What a lot of us call a 'pick' is a blocking foul (as you've hinted at). There is a section in the Rules specifically about blocking fouls -- one player cannot deliberately prevent another player from being able to move. It applies to a Zone D or a man-to-man D or a Happy D or a Sad D.


The next question, of course, will be whether it is deliberate, and then who was moving in which direction. . .


Actually, that was me that called the pick :P I was playing left mid and the opposing team was swinging the disc to my side, and their centre popper and I collided heavily (that team has tough, tough girls - my shoulder still hurts, damn near separated it) when I was trying to get to the sideline to cover their right popper. End result was that we just stopped play and put it back to the thrower. A note, both teams were very good-natured about the incident.


Yes Buck... I agree. Especially since the whole reason for not wanting picks and to 'always' call them is the safety issue. Obviously if Rob collided that hard, picks are important to avoid in Zone as well. And yes, regardless of the type of D, the rules say that a pick is a pick (not literally of course).


We did resolve it quite quickly and got back to playing right away, although I don't think the guy on the other team 'really' agreed that it was a valid call. I just asked the question here to make sure that neither Rob nor I were wrong in our understanding of when a pick was or wasn't valid.


And for Rob... "milkin' the pig"...

Uncle_D


The rule that u stated...


XVI. K. 1. No offensive player may move in such a manner to cause a defensive player guarding a receiver to be obstructed by another player. Obstruction may be the result of contact with, or the need to avoid, the offending player. To do so while the obstructed defensive player is within three meters of the receiver is a "pick".


In a zone, u're covering an area and not covering "a reciever".. as the rule that you have provided, there is no such thing as a pick in a zone cuz you can be covering mutiple recievers in your area. This means that you cannot call pick. A blocking foul call would be more appropriate.

Sorry. msg was meant for Uncle_Buck..


I don't know how I got uncle_D..

r2lau said, "In a zone, u're covering an area and not covering "a reciever".. as the rule that you have provided, there is no such thing as a pick in a zone cuz you can be covering mutiple recievers in your area. This means that you cannot call pick. A blocking foul call would be more appropriate."


Yes, I might be covering an area, but it's more accurate for me to say that "I cover any receiver who comes into this area"... which I do... typically I play man-on to anyone who is in my space. If someone else gets in there and keeps me from following the person in, or allows them to get away from me (assuming I was within 10', of course), then it's a valid pick.


And if two people come into my area and I need to choose which one to cover, I do that and cover that person, and the same concept applies. However, if they're positioned such that I can be within 10' of them both, and am validly covering them both (think 'clam-like', it depends on which one does what next), then again it'd be a valid pick if I was obstructed from covering either one of them. Other than this being literally what the rule says, think about it, otherwise one could just do a button-cut around the one with me on their tail... using the other person to lose me so they get open. Obviously not fair.


I think the likely mistake with calling a pick when playing zone is the 10 feet (actually 3 meters, which is what... 9'10"?) part of the rule, which is not as far as many think of when calling a pick.


Which brings up another interesting point. When playing cup, many people seem to grossly underestimate 3 meters, but when calling a pick, many people seem to grossly overestimate 3 meters. But that's a story for another day, children.

Ya, what Mortakai said......

maz By maz

This same thing happened in our game on Monday night... I thought you were actually talking about our game until the pick-caller said he collided with our girl. That didn't happen in our game as far as I know. But in any case, I know in our game there was some confusion as to calling a pick during the zone.


I think the reason there was the confusion was that once we stopped, the fellow who called the pick didn't mark up with the receiver he was supposedly separated from. It seemed that he then decided that the peron who picked him was now the biggest threat, since she was now closer to the disc. So it seemed kind of weird and not really a pick at all. Like, who were you covering? If you were picked, go back to the other popper and catch up with him, or reset the players involved so that you are in your respective positions at the time of the call.


In our instance, I discussed it with our team and told them that if he was marking someone then he has every right to call the pick, but that also means he should mark up with that person if that's truly who his mark was.

Yeah, that seems a bit odd to me. If you're picked and you call it, you're calling it so you can catch up... or even so that when that person gets the disc, it ends up going back. So why call it to catch up, but then not catch up. Ah well, it all works out in the wash.