Contesting a Stall Countl Call

2 posts / 0 new
Last post


Who can contest a stall count? Is it only the player with the disc or anyone on the filed in the vicinity of the handler/marker?

The following situation occurred recently :

1. Player A threw the the disk into the end zone. The disc was caught by his teammate for a point.

2. Player B - who was marking player A - called turnover believing that he counted to stall 10 before the throw was made.

3. Player C, who was the dump for player A, disagreed, explained the stall count rule and stated that player A released the disk before player B uttered the "t" of ten.

4. Player B's teammate intervened saying that only player A can contest the call.

5. Player C disagreed stating that all players on the field are referees and that anyone on the field can share their perspective regarding infractions.

6. The outcome of the dispute was to redo the play; Player A got the disk at stall 8.

The pertinent rule seems to be XIV.A.3.b:
"The thrower may contest a stall call in the belief that the disc was released before the first utterance of the word "ten"."

The rule only mentions the thrower, but does not state whether other players can share their perspective or contest the call. Is it only the thrower who may contest the call?



Sorry for the late reply to this. Let me start by saying it sounds like the outcome was correct - a contested stall, disc comes back at stall 8.

It's really only Player B that matters. If anyone on the field can convince them they have made the wrong call, Player B may retract their call and the point would stand. If it were me, I'd have a hard time believing anyone other than the thrower telling me when I said the "T-" of ten relative to the throw being released. 

Other players can explain rules, but players A and B are the ones with best perspective here. It's hardly credible for the receiver, for instance, to argue that they heard the stall count while watching exactly when the disc released.

More common is, for example, the dump letting the thrower know they think the marker sped up and it's therefore a fast-count. But the thrower should consider it themselves and make the call accordingly.