Who can contest a stall count? Is it only the player with the disc or anyone on the filed in the vicinity of the handler/marker?
The following situation occurred recently :
1. Player A threw the the disk into the end zone. The disc was caught by his teammate for a point.
2. Player B - who was marking player A - called turnover believing that he counted to stall 10 before the throw was made.
3. Player C, who was the dump for player A, disagreed, explained the stall count rule and stated that player A released the disk before player B uttered the "t" of ten.
4. Player B's teammate intervened saying that only player A can contest the call.
5. Player C disagreed stating that all players on the field are referees and that anyone on the field can share their perspective regarding infractions.
6. The outcome of the dispute was to redo the play; Player A got the disk at stall 8.
The pertinent rule seems to be XIV.A.3.b:
"The thrower may contest a stall call in the belief that the disc was released before the first utterance of the word "ten"."
The rule only mentions the thrower, but does not state whether other players can share their perspective or contest the call. Is it only the thrower who may contest the call?