fouled by own player

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Situation:

I make an incredibly aggressive D. Stop the spin of the disc. Take at least 1 step and collide with a player on my team, dropping the disc in the process.

We called it a turnover and the other team returned to having possession of the disc. I know you cannot call fouls on your own team. I somehow felt very cheated that just because I hit my own player it results in a turnover where running into an opposing player would result in a foul.

Was this the right call?

Thanks, Justin

Assuming everyone agreed you had possession of the disc after the D (you said you stopped the spin, I assume while in your hand), yes that should be a turnover.  

Not sure why you feel cheated though (:  If a hockey player runs into his own team mate, they don't call interference on him, same principle IMHO.

I'm going to intercede here just to comment that the rules allow for a little bit of wiggle room in scenarios like this.  And it comes down to whether you as the defender have definitively established and maintained possession long enough.  It is not related to the foul rules.

Assuming you have caught the disc, arrested its spin and gained control of it (satisfying the basic criteria for possession), there is an additional clause in the rules that pertains to defenders [XII.C]: 

"A pass is intercepted if a defensive player obtains possession of the disc, but if the defender accidentally loses possession of the disc before or during ground contact related to the catch, the pass is considered blocked rather than intercepted ."

So, failure to maintain personal possession in the aftermath of the interception does not result in a double-turnover if it occurs during this window of events still related to the play (e.g., a hard landing, clashing bodies on the follow-through, etc.).  In those instances, play continues uninterrupted, and the defense gains possession.  If, however, the play can be considered to have been resolved and an awkward or bone-headed teammate smashes into you and upsets your grip on the disc, that's just bad luck.

"One step" falls within the criterion of "during ground contact" but is really on the cusp of the transition to normal play.  This call could go either way.

We had a similar situation occur that resulted in a "double" turnover.

D player makes a big catch between two offensive players resulting in the D player becoming the new thrower.
The two O players stood around him, unmoving, kind of sad that they didn't get the disc.
The new thrower now throws the disc to his teammate, who lets the disc fall to the ground.
This teammate observed the O players standing around and thought that there was a call on the play (which there wasn't).
After he realised that there was no call, the resolution was immediate: "Damn. Turnover then. Play On."

Sometimes teammates screw up :)

 

The moral of this last one: *always* catch the disc, and *then* figure out whether play was stopped beforehand or not.