marking distance

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

how far are you allowed to be away from the disc to be counting stalls.

Distance from the disc is not necessarily the deciding factor, so to avoid misinformation, I'll just quote the whole rule:

"K. Marker: The defensive player within three meters of the thrower’s pivot or of the thrower if no pivot has been established. If the disc is not in play, a defensive player within three meters of a spot on the field where the disc is to be put into play is considered the marker."

And of course, only the marker can count stalls.

"And of course, only the marker can count stalls."

Actually I think you missed the following:

XIV.A.6) Any member of the Defensive team on the sideline may initiate or continue a stall
count providing they loudly announce "Ah, ah, aaah!" between each number while speaking in
the voice of Count Von Count.

Let's say a receiver catches the disc and her momentum carries her OB (maybe a big layout). If the marker is within 10 feet of where the disc will be put into play can the mark start calling stalls before it's put into play?

Yes, that's right.