Related to the last rules guru email... Does the following scenario require a check?
Offensive receiver makes a catch close to the ground. He looks up, and asks if it was up or down (ie did it touch the ground first). Defence does not have a good perspective to say. Offensive teammate says looked good. I understand a ground tap is not necessary as the disc has not moved, but was this a "stoppage" in play if the defence didn't really dispute anything? Does the offensive player (now thrower) need to announce disc in?