Restarting play on an out of bounds disc play

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
CB By CB
#1

Hello fellow rules people! I had an opposing player make a call today that I've never heard of before, and I want to confirm what the right call is for future reference. Wondering if I can get your thoughts on this: 

1) Our opponents have the disc near their end zone. Their handler is near the side and hucks an outside-in long bomb so the disc goes out of bounds almost instantly, and is slowly curving its way back in, close to our brick line. My safety goes out of bounds, and knocks the out of bounds disc before it comes in.

My understanding based on the rules is that the disc is played where the disc went out (or "completely crossed the perimeter line"), so disc is near their end zone. However, one person on their team said that the disc goes where the out of bounds player hits the out of bounds disc, because it was coming in. This makes no sense to me based on my reading of the rules (except if it's point 3 in the list below). Who's right in this situation? 

Appreciate your feedback. Thanks.

----

To continue play after the disc becomes out-of-bounds, a member of the team gaining possession of the disc must carry it to, and put it into play at, the spot on the playing field proper nearest to where the most recent of the following events occurred:

  1. the disc completely crossed the perimeter line;
  2. the disc contacted an in-bounds player;
  3. the disc contacted a defensive player; or
  4. the disc became out-of-bounds due to contact with the out-of-bounds area or a player while any part of the disc was inside the perimeter line.

The disc contacted a defensive player, so the disc is put into play nearest to where that player contacted the disc. 

CB By CB

Thanks for the confirmation!

Just to add: the fact that the disc may have been coming back in is irrelevant. If a D player touches it before it hits the ground then the disc is put into play nearest to where that player contacted the disc. If it's not going to come back in, and there's no O player about to try a greatest (you never know!) then don't touch it!

CB By CB

Good clarification, thanks!