starting play while still out of bounds

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Ice By Ice
#1

This happen to me the other day. team1. threw the disc out of bounds. team2 picks it up while still out of bounds tries to throw it to his team mate but fails.

question is, doesnt team2 need to establish at least a pivot foot inside the playing field before he can throw? and even if his team mate catches it, shouldnt it still be a TO? and would you play it where it was caught or where it was thrown?

Once the disc becomes OB, it is no longer "in play", and thus no legal pass can be made. The
disc only becomes "in play" again when a player puts it into play (ie: establishes pivot,
touches disc to ground) at the correct spot. In your case, the new offensive player didn't do
that, so no legal throw could be made. To be honest, I'm not sure if a travel call would be
appropriate (failure to establish pivot at the correct spot) since he wasn't technically allowed
to throw in the first place, but a general "violation" would cover the situation with the same
result.

However, while the disc was not in play and no legal pass could be made, it was still "live"
and subject to turnover, so when he threw an incomplete pass, even though he wasn't allowed
to make a pass, it is still a turnover. If it had been complete it wouldn't be a TO, but would
come right back to the initial thrower. If you had called a violation (or travel) before the
outcome was determined (ie: before it was incomplete), continuation would apply and it
would be a turnover anyways.

To answer the last question:

". . . and would you play it where it was caught or where it was thrown?"

As Gin-Boh explains, if the disc is caught, it returns to the thrower, and is put into play by the thrower at the appropriate spot on the playing field proper.

If the disc is not caught, a turnover results, and the new offense puts the disc into play where it should have been put into play in the first place. Some additional rules of note:

"D. A disc becomes in-bounds when it is put into play, or when play starts or restarts."

"E. A disc becomes out-of-bounds when it first contacts the out-of-bounds area, contacts an out-of-bounds offensive player, or is caught by an out-of-bounds defensive player."

"I. Events occurring after the disc becomes out-of-bounds do not affect where it is put into play."