stoppage in play?

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Need some clarification..   Consulted the rule book but still kind of fuzzy about the final call..

So someone goes and catches a disc.. its questionable if there was contact between the disc and the grass..  after a very brief discussion (<5 sec) he decides its a turn over.  Is the brief discussion considered a stoppage in play?  I see in the rules that if he hands the disc to the defence that was beside him when he caught the disc it is considered a stoppage..  What happens if offence drops the disc to the ground after he makes the judgement from the discussion that its a turnover.. does the attacking team now need to still check the disc in since there was a brief discussion?

Okay, let's cover a few bases....

Play does not normally stop on a simple up/down decision, of course.  If someone says that the disc was down, and that is immediately accepted, then there's no reason for there to be a formal stoppage. It would be good form to declare "play on" or "disc is live" (where appropriate) loudly to make it extra clear.

But if a player is holding the disc (technically making them the thrower), and a "discussion" results,  then a stoppage in play follows.  The thrower (in this case, the one holding the disc) is responsible for stopping play, and in theory, he/she should make it clear.  Even if he/she does not, the stoppage is implicit, because the thrower is discussing a "call": the resolution of an "unclear catch" (XV.E).  Note that under XV.E, the player with best perspective makes the "call."  And under XIX.F, the thrower should stop play when a "call is made."  So to answer this portion of the question, yes, a discussion on an unclear catch should stop play.

 

However, that is not the same as saying that the new attacking team must check the disc in.  There must be a check, but it should be the appropriate variety: a defensive self-check (VIII.D.5).  The player holding the disc will verify that everyone has resumed appropriate positions, perform the self-check, and then play resumes where the disc lies.  The attacking team can then play the disc immediately.