turf league - endzone turnover

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Someone highlighted an interesting wrinkle in our current 5-on-5 rules.

C.2. Stall counts are to 8. Normal Delay of Game rules apply.
C.3. When a team scores ... the other team has 8 seconds ... to put the disc into play.

So that means there are two different counts for change of possession in an endzone:
- after a score, offense has 8 seconds to restart
- after a turnover (without scoring), offense has 16 seconds to restart (under delay of game rules).

That's potentially confusing, which may be OK, but I think it's worth a review.

Some options:
a) leave the rules as they are
b) change delay of game aspect of C2: offense only has 8 seconds to restart after a turnover in endzone (still 16 seconds if out of bounds).
c) change C3: offense has 16 seconds after a score to restart

Comments?

Well, in standard ulty, turnovers in the endzone result in the new offense having a double-count
to put the disc in play. I don't see there to be any reason to change that for turf.

Really the quirk is the turf-rule that the new offense has only a single-count to put the disc in
play. While there's no inconsistency, I agree it's potentially confusing. Why not make it a
double-count for both situations?

One enjoyable aspect of 5-on-5 is the fast pace of the game. The rules were initially setup with a single-count after a score to encourage continuous flow (with a short 8-second break). Apparently, at least one team thought it was still a double-count, and were doing wholesale line changes after a score. So another way to phrase the question is whether we want to facilitate that, or not.

I would prefer NOT.

"Continuous flow" is the meat and potatoes of 5 on 5. [At Udderbowl, I turned and began a strike at least 3 times after scores, before I finally re-adapted to the much slower paced 7 on 7!]

It would also make sense to change both post-point and post turn-over DoG counts to 1 count
while the disc remains in the end zone.

It already is a hybrid of an end-zone and playing field proper, as you cannot walk the disc up to
the line, if it remains IB, so it makes a certain amount of sense.