walking with the disc

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1

Ok took a quick look and didn't see this question. With regards to the three step rule - are you allowed 3 steps when "walking" NOT "running" or "jumping"?

If a player catches the disc while running or jumping the player may
release a pass without attempting to stop and without setting a pivot,
provided that:
1. the player does not change direction or increase speed while in possession of the disc; and
2. the pass is released before three additional points of contact with the ground are made after possession has been established.

Ravi, there's no 'three step rule'. Though we've all heard a hundred times "you've got three
steps" that's not actually true.

Take a look at that rule you posted, you must throw *before* your third step.

You're right about that rule though, semantically, the exception to the 'try your best to slow to a
stop immediately' rule only applies when running or jumping. Practically, and the way I'd think it
should be called, walking, skipping, shuffling should all apply the same. Naturally, only so long
as you don't speed up or turn.

That said, I wouldn't contest if somebody called travel on me if I was walking instead of running.
Though I don't know if I've ever done a give and go while walking or skipping so...

Just to hammer out the semantics to death, throwing before your third ground contact often means throwing before the end of your second step -- much less wiggle room than suggested by the "you get three steps" myth.

But if you're walking and the timing is right, then throwing before three additional ground contacts will translate to throwing before the end of your third step.

Here you go:

"Traveling: The thrower must establish a pivot at the appropriate spot on the field and keep all or part of the
pivot in contact with that spot until the throw is released. Failure to do so is a travel and results in a
stoppage of play and a check.
...
2. Exceptions:
...
b) It is not a travel if a player catches the disc and releases a pass before the third ground contact (XV.C)."

The above rule applies regardless of whether you walk, run or jump.

"Just to hammer out the semantics to death, throwing before your third ground contact often
means throwing before the end of your second step"

I'm not sure if this is what you meant or not, but it's good to remember that only the ground
contacts *after* possession is gained are counted. Check out XV.C referenced by both rules,
specifically this clause:

XV.C.2) the pass is released before three additional points of contact with the ground are
made after possession has been established.

So, sometimes you can take two full steps (two footfalls) then throw, other times, if you
catch in the air and land on two feet, those are your two additional points of contact, and you
must throw before the next.

--

When the 11th was being made, I lobbied for removing any derivative of the word "three"
from the travel rules. I thought this would help dispel the myth that 'you've got three steps".
It never really worked out though. I wonder if it'd made that much of a difference.

"I'm not sure if this is what you meant or not, but it's good to remember that only the ground contacts *after* possession is gained are counted."

Yes, that's what I mean.

If you are not touching the ground at the time of the catch, your first footfall is your first ground contact. Your third ground contact will be the end of your second step.

When running at speed, we spend a lot of time without touching the ground. Moreover, many cutters opt to make an extra hop just before the catch.

Thanks everyone... I think all of us understand the semantics of how "after control of the disc" can be 2 or 3 steps - within the 3 additional points of ground contact. And the travel rule - clears up that walking is technically accepted if not entirely spirited. As for give and go - some of us now "run" at pretty much a walking pace ;)

Regarding the travel exception where you can throw without slowing...

"I think all of us understand the semantics of how "after control of the disc" can be 2 or 3 steps
- within the 3 additional points of ground contact."

Actually I don't see how you can ever take 3 steps.

You can't take 3 steps. Ever. That's the myth. It's not 'within 3 steps', it's 'before 3 steps'. That
means two or less.

It should be remembered as the two-step rule.